You are here

New England Food Summit : 2011

The first annual New England Food Summit, held March 24-25, 2011 in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, brought together stakeholders with the purpose of strengthening our common understanding of overall key trends and mutual awareness of efforts across the food system, with the goal of building collaborative strategies and action plans to build regional food system capacity and sustainability.

The need to convene a summit of this nature has been expressed by a wide variety of stakeholders that recognize the importance of a coordinated, comprehensive response to building a sustainable food future. Goals of the summit included to:

  • Make the case for the economic, environmental and health benefits of a regional food system.
  • Stress the social justice aspects of building a strong regional food system/economy.
  • Capture best practices from each state.
  • Strengthen the regional perspective of all participants.
  • Prioritize a list of regional strategies, or solutions, and identify key opportunities for collaboration

A steering committee comprised of leaders from across the region selected delegates from each New England state to participate in the summit. In addition, a delegation comprised of crosscutting representatives who are working for regionally based organizations or agencies were also invited. Click the links to the left to view summit delegates, materials, resources, and other information.

View the 2011 Summit booklet here.

2011 Summit Delegates

Celina Adams, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation

Robin Alden, Penobscot East Resource Center

Molly Anderson, College of the Atlantic

Diego Angarita, Nuestras Raices

Patti Baum, HNH Foundation

Amanda Beal, Eat Local Foods Coalition

Linda Berlin, UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture

Al Bettencourt, RI Farm Bureau

Diane Bothfeld, Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets, Montpelier, VT

Koi Boynton, Vermont Agency of Agriculture

Tom Brady, UNH College of Life Sciences and Agriculture

Katherine Brown, Southside Community Land Trust

Lynda Brushett, Cooperative Development Institute

Joanne Burke, UNH Dietetic and Nutrition Program

John Carroll, UNH Department of Natural Resources and the Environment

Michele Chapman, UNH Sustainability Academy

Annie Cheatham, New England Farmers Union

Erin Cinelli, Farmers Gate Market

Sara Cleaves, UNH Sustainability Academy

Cris Coffin, American Farmland Trust

Helen Costello, NH Food Bank

Dorn Cox, Tuckaway Farm and Green Start

Mark Curran, Black River Produce

Joanne Curran-Celentano, UNH Department of Molecular, Cellular and Biomedical Sciences

Erica Curry, Shelburne Farms

Rita Decker-Parry, Billlings Forge Community Works

Mike Devlin, Harvard Pilgrim Health Foundation

Michael Dimock, Roots of Change

Brian Donahue, Brandeis University

Kate Donald, Stout Oak Farm

Linda Drake, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program

Dianne Dumanoski, Environmental and science author, reporter

David Eisenberg, Harvard Medical School

Elisabeth Farrell, UNH Sustainability Academy

Ann Ferris, University of Connecticut Health Center

Charlie French, UNH Cooperative Extension

Tim Griffin, Tufts University Friedman School of Nutrition Science & Policy

Curt Grimm, UNH Carsey Institute

Vern Grubinger, UVM Extension and Northeast SARE

Thad Guldbrandsen, Center for Rural Partnerships

Mike Hamm, Michigan State University

Jennifer Hashley, New Entry Sustainable Farming Project

Nancy Hirshberg, Stonyfield Farm

Dana Hudson, Shelburne Farms

Christine James, John Merck Foundation

John Jemison, University of Maine Cooperative Extension

Deb Jones, Vital Communities

Mary Jordan, MA Department of Agriculture

Hugh Joseph, Tufts University

A.J. Juarez, MPHA-Western Mass.

Ellen Kahler, Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund

Christopher Kaufman Illstrop, Vermont Community Foundation

Michael Keilty, UConn College of Ag and Natural Resources

Tom Kelly, UNH Sustainability Academy

Tara Kelly, Rutland Area Farm and Food Link

Marge Kilkelly, Northeast States Association for Agricultural Stewardship

Jean King, Food Policy Consultant

Shawn LaFrance, Foundation for Healthy Communities

Ken La Valley, NH Sea Grant Extension

Russ Libby, MOFGA

Elizabeth Lynn, van Beuren Charitable Foundation, Inc.

Rick MacDonald, UNH Dining Services

Evan Mallet, Black Trumpet Bistro

Travis Marcotte, Intervale Center

Katie Martin, Connecticut Institute for Clinical and Translational Science

Gloria McAdam, Foodshare

Patrick McNiff, Pat's Pastured

Gail McWilliam Jellie, NH Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food

Lorraine Merrill, NH Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food

Ken Morse, Healthy Oxford Hills

Clem Nilan, City Market/Onion River Co-op

Lucy Nolan, End Hunger Connecticut!

Amy Ouellette, UNH Cooperative Extension

Brett Pasinella, UNH Sustainability Academy

Sara Zoe Patterson, Seacoast Eat Local

Mary Peabody, Northeast Regional Center for Rural Development

Andrea Perry, Broad Reach Fund

Jen Peterson, Vermont Community Foundation

John Piotti, Maine Farmland Trust

Ned Porter, Wholesome Wave

Alaina Pritchard, UNH Sustainability Academy

Amy Redman, UNH Sustainability Academy & Sociology Department

Frank Robinson, Live Well Springfield

Kathy Ruhf, Northeast Sustainable Agriculture Working Group

Alycia Santilli, Yale Center for Clinical Investigation

David Schwartz, The Food Project

Meghan Sheridan, Vermont Fresh Network

Ben Slayton, Farmers Gate Market

Jane Slupecki, CT Department of Agriculture

Catherine Sneed, The Garden Project

Sue Sosnowski, State of RI

Tom Stearns, High Mowing Organic Seeds

Anim Steel, The Food Project

Sam Stegeman, PV Grows / Community Involved in Sustaining Agriculture

Dorothy Suput, The Carrot Project

Ken Toong, UMass Dining Services

Ryan Torres, Vermont Community Foundation

Amy VanHaren, Stonyfield Farm

Gloria Varney, Nezinscot Farm

Cameron Wake, Carbon Solutions New England

Amy Winston, Coastal Enterprises, Inc. and National Farm to School Network

Enid Wonnacott, NOFA-VT